50 solutions

An awards ceremony will take place in different cities across the world each year between 2021 and 2030 to award five winners The Earthshot Prize. Five, one million-pound prizes will be awarded each year for the next 10 years, providing at least 50 solutions to the world’s greatest environmental problems by 2030.

The solutions

Many of the solutions needed to reach our five Earthshots already exist – the task is to celebrate and scale them, with the ambition that they lead to mass adoption and replication. 

The projects that will win The Earthshot Prize are the outstanding actions and initiatives that are demonstrating positive effects on people’s lives and progress towards our Earthshots. By identifying and highlighting these solutions, The Earthshot Prize will inspire and celebrate new, collaborative action to meet the environmental challenges we face. 

The winners

After the awards, each winner will receive a global platform and prestigious profile, with their stories being showcased over the decade with the ambition that their solutions lead to mass adoption, replication and scaling.

The £1 million in prize money will support environmental and conservation projects that are agreed with the winners.

Shortlisted nominees will also be given tailored support and opportunities to help scale their work, including being connected with an ecosystem of likeminded individuals and organisations.

Upcoming Awards


Royal Foundation